I’m not yet 40 BUT…

img_0683Not yet 40 but I’ve had all my 40+ health checks. My blood pressure was so high I was having frequent, as in, tri-weekly hypertensive crisis, my metabolism which was amazing, has been turned on its head, arthritis and occipital neuralgia on top of Ulcerative Colitis were just making life unmanageable. I’ve gained 2 stone and gone up from a size 8 to a 12-14 since having baby number 3 7 years ago. Health hasn’t helped that. I have been nicotine free since 2005 so that adds to weight gain, along with the tiger stripes from the children.

19 pills a day and life was becoming manageable, but as a family we were still building all our plans and daily life around my fatigue and health. Good day? Bad day? Russian roulette. “How many spoons has mummy got today?”

What life is that? What affect will all this have on my girls? So, bull by the horns and all that. I’m finally ready to tackle it.

I joined Forever a month and a half ago. I cannot express what the Aloe drinking gel has done for me in terms of reduction in symptoms. It’s by no means a cure but I now blood stays where it belongs in my body put it that way!

I joined a gym 1 month ago. It’s not even a gym, it’s more of a health spa. It’s a wonderful place! Slightly superpowered. There are no disgusting changing rooms, no sweaty gym heads and everyone is pretty much around my age or older than I and friendly, kind and helpful. It’s so welcoming! #winning

Ive discovered that after all my yoga practice that I love Pilates. In just 4 weeks of bi-weekly sessions my core is improving, my hips are not jarring, my neck is not as compressed and my tension in my shoulders is lessening. I feel less old! Not testing the trampoline out just yet though.

I have managed to go from zero running and getting breathless on stairs (b12 has vanished too) to being able to do 23 minutes at a fairly steady pace without my heart going ballistic and my blood pressure leaping to unknown heights. Slow and stead, little and often.

Im petrified of being old, losing my ability to do things and as the saying goes, use it or lose it. I don’t want to keep eating high calorie, sugar filled foods to fuel the energy bursts I so desperately need but being unable to eat leaves and raw foods, along with a lot of healthy cooked foods is so hard. My stomach is often swollen and inflamed and my go to is chips or rice because I don’t end up in the bathroom if I eat those. So, no more swollen tum. No more looking at myself with horror and this potentially diabetic middle (over the 34 inches threshold). Time to make a big change! I’m already half way there as I’ve decided to decide.

I will endeavour to share my journey here and there. If I’m brave you can have a picture of my  hideous middle and hopefully I’ll have some to post of a more toned me. Marbs 2017 here I come!

Shine brightly everyone! Your journey makes you unique, embrace it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

